At the moment, Date is the default sorting option. However, when a user performs a search with the Location field filled in, the default sorting automatically changes to Distance [if the Enable sorting by distance feature is activated].
In other words, since users don’t have a default location assigned and different users may browse from different locations, sorting by Distance is only applied when a specific location is provided in the search.
Ah, I see! Thank you for clarifying how it all works. That makes sense!
It had only came to mind last night, and during a quick test, I must have not filled in the Location field, as I’ve just retested this, and, I can in fact see the option now.